Skip to content

Advising

Egan Leadership Center – Suite 200 (2nd floor)

Phone: 502-873-4169

Email: advising@spalding.edu

Greetings!

Academic advising is a key component of your student success. Our academic advisors are here to help guide you along your educational journey. We’ll meet with you one-on-one to discuss the best pathway to earning your degree from Spalding University.

Our Mission

Academic Advising meets the needs of Spalding University’s diverse community of learners by supporting the development of the student’s educational and vocation goals through collaborative, intentional, and compassionate advising practices consistent with the University and its mission.

Need to Speak With an Advisor?

Undergraduate students are assigned either to a Faculty Advisor within their major concentration, or to an Academic Advisor in the Academic Advising Center. The following chart will direct you to the correct advisors.

You can schedule an appointment with your academic advisor or faculty advisor using Navigate. If you are unable to schedule an appointment with your advisor using Navigate, refer to the table below for your best contact based on your academic program/major.

 

Undergraduate Students

Major Contact Phone Number and Location
Accounting and Business Michelle Reiss, mreiss@spalding.edu 502-873-4249

Mansion West 105

Business (FLEX/ONLINE) Jimmy Rowland, jrowland@spalding.edu 502-873-4170

Academic Advising Center – ELC 200

Creative Arts Jeffrey Cross, jcross@spalding.edu 502-873-4160

Academic Advising Center – ELC 200

Creative Writing Charles Maynard, cmaynard@spalding.edu 502-873-4261

Mansion 212

Criminal Justice Damian Botner, abotner@spalding.edu 502-873-4437

Mansion West 210

Communication Jimmy Rowland, jrowland@spalding.edu 502-873-4170

Academic Advising Center – ELC 200

Education Kimberly Palmore, kpalmore@spalding.edu 502-873-4158

Academic Advising Center – ELC 200

Education (Upper Division) – Elementary & LBD Barbara Foster, bfoster@spalding.edu 502-873-4264

School of Education – Mansion West 011

Education (Upper Division) – Middle & Secondary Karen Dunnagan, kdunnagan@spalding.edu 502-873-4263

School of Education – Mansion West 122

Health Science (including plans for Master in Athletic Training, Doctorate in Occupational Therapy, or Doctorate in Physical Therapy) Jane Mostue, jmostue@spalding.edu 502-873-4163

Academic Advising Center – ELC 200

Liberal Studies, Interdisciplinary Humanities, Interdisciplinary Social Sciences Damian Botner, abotner@spalding.edu 502-873-4437

Mansion West 210

Natural Science Lori Silaghi, lsilaghi@spalding.edu 502-873-4448

KCC 104

Nursing (Traditional) Jane Mostue, jmostue@spalding.edu 502-873-4163

Academic Advising Center – ELC 200

Nursing (Accelerated 2nd degree) Jimmy Rowland, jrowland@spalding.edu 502-873-4170

Academic Advising Center – ELC 200

Psychology Jimmy Rowland, jrowland@spalding.edu 502-873-4170

Academic Advising Center – ELC 200

Psychology (FLEX/ONLINE) Kimberly Palmore, kpalmore@spalding.edu 502-873-4158

Academic Advising Center – ELC 200

RN to BSN Jimmy Rowland, jrowland@spalding.edu 502-873-4170

Academic Advising Center – ELC 200

RN to BSN (Humana) Nikki Shedletsky, nshedletsky@spalding.edu 502-873-4162

Academic Advising Center – ELC 200

Social Work Jimmy Rowland, jrowland@spalding.edu 502-873-4170

Academic Advising Center – ELC 200

Social Work (Upper Division) Stacy Deck, sdeck@spalding.edu 502-873-4477

RAC 404

Undeclared Jeffrey Cross, jcross@spalding.edu 502-873-4160

Academic Advising Center – ELC 200

 

Tips to be a Successful Online Learner

Treat online and on-campus classes the same

  • Treat an online class the same way as an on-campus course.
  • Be prepared.
  • Your professors will have work you’ll do on your own time, as well as live, real-time lectures or discussions.
  • Be sure to dedicate the time necessary to do work on your own time.

Stay Engaged – It might feel more challenging right now, but our goal is for students to stay connected and engaged with the campus, their classmates, advisor, and faculty. 

Collaborate in online course discussions to better grasp the course materials and connect with classmates.

  • Set up a Google Hangout to have group discussions.
  • Request a virtual meeting with your professor if you have questions about the material.
  • Reach out to your professor if you are falling behind with the online coursework for any reason. It’s better to get the help you need as early as possible.

Time Management

  • Plan ahead. Use a day planner or Google calendar to keep track of deadlines and assignments.
  • Create a daily and/or weekly schedule that includes online class time and study time.
  • Don’t multi-task.
  • Set a timer. Using a timer or phone alarm for 25-40 minutes allows you to work uninterrupted for a scheduled period of time and will help you stay on track.
  • Review each course syllabus to ensure you stay on top of upcoming tests and quizzes.

Practice mental wellness and avoid burnout

  • Take short 5-15 minute breaks after working on the computer for 25-40 minutes.
  • Move around and stretch.
  • Relax in ways that de-stress. Get a good night’s sleep, 7-8 hours, every day.
  • Visit Spalding’s Wellness Page

Staying focused and eliminating distractions will help you  meet deadlines and avoid procrastination.

  • Once again, set time aside each week as class time and study time.
  • Don’t let Netflix, Amazon shopping, or YouTube distract you from meeting course deadlines.
  • Figure out what strategy works best for you.

If you need help staying focused, consider creating lists using a project management tool, such as Trello or Smartsheet, to help organize tasks.

  • If you prefer a traditional to-do list, then look at digital notebooks like Todoist or Evernote.
  • Cold Turkey and Freedom can help eliminate distractions by blocking the apps and websites such as Youtube, Snapchat, and Twitter.

Academic Advisor

Reach out to your advisor for guidance and support. Advisors are available via phone, email, and GoToMeeting.

Educational Environment

  • Wherever you choose to study, organize your space to help you focus on your studies, ensure reliable high-speed internet as best you can.
  • Earphones may be helpful if your professor posts a required course video to watch.

Keep your device(s) charged!